The National Certificate for Personal Licence Holders will be renamed the Level 2 Award for Personal Licence Holders – the NCPLH will become the APLH!

30. April 2010 11:33

The National Certificate for Personal Licence Holders (NCPLH) is well known throughout the licensed trade as the ‘must have’ qualification when applying for a Personal Licence that authorises the sale of alcohol in licensed premises. Versions of this qualification are offered by a variety of awarding bodies and all were originally accredited by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA) at Level 2 in the National Qualifications Framework (NQF), or National Database of Accredited Qualifications (NDAQ) as it later became known.

The NCPLH is going to be renamed and the new name will be: Level 2 Award for Personal Licence Holders. You will start to see this title being used from August 2010 onwards, along with the abbreviation APLH rather than NCPLH. The APLH will continue to be delivered as a one-day course with a 40 question multiple-choice exam at the end of it.

Why the change?
Changes to policy designed to simplify qualifications have now resulted in the creation of ‘Ofqual’ as the qualifications regulator, and a new Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) to replace NDAQ.

Paul Chase, Director and Head of UK Compliance at CPL Training has led the discussion with other awarding bodies, on behalf of awarding body EDI, to create a new ‘shared unit’ for NCPLH. This will sit at Level 2 on the Qualifications and Credit Framework. Essentially this has involved migrating the existing NCPLH qualification, with some amendments, from NDAQ onto the new QCF. The discussions on the new Unit have been chaired by Angela Yahaya of People 1st, who fully support the submission to QCF.

How does the QCF work?
Under the new QCF every unit and qualification in the framework will have a credit value (one credit represents 10 notional learning hours, showing how much time and effort it takes to complete) and a level between ‘entry’ and level 8 (showing how difficult it is).

There are three sizes of qualifications in the QCF:
• Awards (between 1 and 12 credits)
• Certificates (between 13 and 36 credits)
• Diplomas (37 credits or more)

So in the new framework you can have an ‘Award’ at level 1 or at Level 8. This is because the qualification type ‘award, certificate, diploma’ represents the size of the qualification, not how difficult it is. The degree of difficulty is represented by the level – ‘Level 1’, ‘Level 2’ and so on. Simply by looking at the title of a qualification you will be able to see how difficult it is, how long it will take the average learner to complete, and its general content.

CPL Training is working with awarding body EDI to migrate all of the licensed retail-related qualifications we offer on to the new Qualifications and Credit Framework.


Blog | NCPLH

Add comment

  Country flag
  • Comment
  • Preview

About the author

Paul Chase

Paul Chase is a graduate political economist with over 20 years experience operating licensed retail premises. He is a co-founder of CPL Training and as a Director and Head of UK Compliance is responsible for ensuring that the business targets of this department are delivered to the Board.

Widely acknowledged as a sector expert, Paul is also responsible for compliance course development and works closely with awarding bodies developing and maintaining CPL’s licensed retail sector qualifications. In addition Paul manages a number of key corporate accounts.

Month List